Locked Google Images folder now used by other phones
In the June Pixel Feature Drop, Google introduced the "Locked Folder" in the Google Photos app on Pixel devices which can now be used by others
Photo Credits: Mitchell Luo/Unsplash
In the June Pixel Feature Drop, Google introduced the "Locked Folder" in the Google Photos app on Pixel devices. As originally reported by Android shelves, this feature now reaches devices other than Google Pixel.
A locked folder is a secure folder on your device where you can store private pictures and videos and they will not be uploaded to Google Photos. From here, you can only see what you have saved and you will not be allowed to share, save the screen or save any content unless it is removed from the locked folder again.
The feature is accessed by opening Google Photos and tapping the "Library" tab, then "Utilities" and scrolling down to "Locked Folder".
If you're using a non-Pixel Android phone, you may not see the option right away. Some users have reported a notification notifying them of the arrival of the feature. Even if you use the latest version of the Google Photos app, it appears that the locked folder option will appear after the server-side update goes through the Google Play Services Framework.